Before It Rains

I sat for a while in the garden, it was a mild day and very summery,I just felt I had to drink my morning coffee outdoors. Of course, by the time I had washed down the garden chairs, they were too wet to sit on!

I left one of the not-so-dirty chairs unwashed so I could perch on the edge, the way you do when you don't want to get your skirt dirty. Yes, I decided to wear a skirt today!

I took The Mother to sort some business at the Town Hall and she felt strong enough to go to the garden centre with us for some bedding plants for her hanging baskets. She hadn't had anything solid to eat yesterday, nor earlier today. I did persuade her to have a small piece of sponge cake with a cuppa after we bought some plants.

I am not able to be in control of this. Not that anyone could call me a control freak. I could advise what assortment of plants would go in a hanging basket, I can push a wheelchair, but I cannot make her eat, even drinks are being refused now. I am at a low point.

When I went to see The Mother in the evening I told her I had gone round the bend but quickly corrected it to having turned the corner, figuratively speaking. Realising yesterday that my malaise was just a cold, I felt I was on the road to recovery. She was, too. She had peeled an apple and was eating it!

I told her I thought she was suffering from a cold, too, and that she would recover from this depressing state she is in. She certainly seemed brighter.

Oh, the sorbus! It's in the centre of my garden and looks wonderful at this time of year before the rain flattens all the little hairs on the young leaves. Blipped whilst drinking coffee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.