Brighter Than I Thought

I knew that after checking The Mother was OK I would have a full day of mounting and framing prints.

By 9.30am I was at The Friends ready to start. We only had six images to mount and frame but it takes a bit of organising and the A3+ images require careful handling. The mounting went easily. Next came the exciting bit, a real bright point of the day. Choosing frames.

We make our own frames at the workshop out of a variety of hardwoods and some have inlays to give a frame-within-a-frame look. J chose the wood from the woodstore and it was actually her who made most of them. I will enjoy telling her how good they look next time I see her.

What we do is place the mounted images in the frames and swap them around until we feel we have the correct combinations. I loved the ones that happened to be best for mine, a pippy oak with lots of character for one and a beautiful rippled sycamore for another.

We have tried plain, identical frames in the past but it's nice to be different!

We finished the work with time in hand for me to take a few shots on the journey home. Then a meal to make and The Mother to tempt with a mall helping of roast beef dinner. That part of the day was every bit as difficult as I had feared!

I must be thankful that she still likes tomato soup, well almost!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.