Motorcycle diaries - day3: the return ourney

continued from here

quite a bit of time and internet bandwidth was spent last evening to figure out the return route...nobody wanted to go back the same way we came...not completely because it was supposed to take longer, rather everyone wanted to take a new route and see some new places on the way back...our able and experienced navigator chalked out a route in the minutest detail possible, that boasted to take us back to Hyderabad in the least possible time and with least possible trouble - claims that were going to fall flat on their faces later in the day...all was going well when we hit a place from where we had to take a diversion to the next town...what we were riding on, doesn't even qualify to be called as a road by any standards...it was just a surface with big stones held together by soil...at some places, the tranquility of the soil was not strong enough to control the restlessness of the rocks - giving rise to huge potholes...but we, riding high on our biker-ego, were not just ready to give in either...we refused to throttle down and sped on the rocky surface at a considerable speed...at times, the potholes were so bad that I was thrown off my saddle with escape velocity...I was lucky that my butt found the bike back when I returned to earth...and if you think my condition was bad, think of the other guy who was riding as a pillion with his friend...I'm sure he didn't take all his bones back home that day...luckily this horrible patch was only for 10-12 kms, after which were were on the state highway...the state highway was the best of both worlds - the road was considerably good and there was lots of greenery and life on either side of the road...in the evening, we hit the NH once more...and this time we were faster than ever...barring a few cars that overtook us, we were the fastest moving things on the highway...

another great trip came to an end...I am glad that the trips that I have been making lately are so distinctly different from each other - providing me with the variety that I always crave for...this trip will definitely go in my list of "one of the memorable trips I made in life"...by far, this was the best motorbike trip I had...of course, till I make a trip to Laddakh and Khardungla (highest motorable road on earth)

dump of the pictures from the trip

P.S. - one year ago was another incredible trip...let's see what the Christmas of 2010 has in store :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.