Scribbler

By scribbler

Metallic

Tabernacle, St. Mary's Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception.

The communion wafers that are blessed at a mass but not consumed are kept in the Tabernacle and are known as the Reserved Sacrament. They are available for priests and eucharistic ministers to bring to the sick and homebound. They are also considered by Catholics to be the Real Presence of Jesus and are thus treated with great reverence.

The Tabernacle is a wonderful place to pray, I've found. This one is in a little room of its own with a magnificent modern stained-glass window (included as 'metallic' because of its leaded glass). The ornate light is the Sanctuary lamp. It is kept lit to indicate that the Sacrament is within. Normally the only time it's not there is on Good Friday, when it's at the Altar of Repose, and on Holy Saturday, the day before Easter, which is the one day of the year when communion is not received and mass is not celebrated (until the Great Vigil of Easter).

The fruit of my Bhagavad Gita workshop has been to bring me back to church! (God has a great sense of humor.) I have been at mass five of the past seven days. It's been just what I needed.

My yoga teacher and I drank jasmine tea this morning and talked about the Bhagavad Gita. She has studied with Edwin Bryant also. It was wonderful to share insights with someone who understands these things.

It rained hard today. The irises were covered with raindrops when I got out of church. They were gorgeous, and I got a few great shots, but alas they weren't metallic. ;-)

----------------

CHALLENGES

Anniemay+Mollymay
Metallic

DDW: Where I Live
I live in church.

-----------------

MARIGOLD FILM

I got quite a kick out of the little conversation blippers were having yesterday, urging me to view a film I've already seen. Lol!
I've seen it! I liked it! May I please be excused? ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.