carliewired

By carliewired

T.G.I.F.

On the last work day
of this roller coaster week,
I need some closure

~ carliewired

This morning I had to turn my attention to probate. I've been given a list of what to gather up. It has seemed monumental to me. Although I want and need this completed so we can all move on, I have some difficulty with it. To make a list of someone's worldly wealth calculated at the day of death just seems too cold-blooded and too inhuman to me. I have even been asked for the bill for the funeral. How can that be anybody's business besides mine?

While I was trying to wade through the demands of the probate process I was trying to deal with a service call from our local cable company. It provides our internet and television. We've had no end of difficulties with it since our landscaping was done last August. At that time, a contractor tore up the underground cable across our yard, then left for the long weekend without notifying us of the problem. We were quite surprised to come home that evening to discover we had neither internet nor cable. We did get a "repair" from the cable company the next day, but nagging problems continue. The young man who arrived today has given me some hope that the issues will be dealt with.

My reward for a fractious morning was a visit with my friend, J, at a new coffee shop in late afternoon. While I waited for her to arrive, I overheard the owner explaining how they named the shop. She said, "My husband is from Germany and I'm a 'mix'. So it's ' The Crazy and the German.' " I must say it is a delightful place for coffee. I was a bit disappointed that they were almost cleaned out this afternoon, but I highly recommend the cinnamon buns.

My final challenge for the day came as I returned to my car after our great coffee break. There was my little Prius completely overshadowed by a big blue van. It was parked so far over the line that I could not open my driver's door. I was not very pleased. I reached into the passenger side of my car to find paper and a felt pen. I left a rude message under the windshield wiper of the van, then I climbed across the front seat of my car and drove away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.