My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Solanum crispum.......

..........climbing over a wooden archway in my garden. It has excelled itself this year and is covered in flowers.

Solanum crispum is a species of flowering plant in the Solanaceae family, native to Chile and Peru. Common names include Chilean potato vine, Chilean nightshade, Chilean potato tree and potato vine. The berries are slightly poisonous!

The variety 'Glasnevin' is the one to choose, as it flowers more prolifically and is also slightly hardier than the others.

I lost a previous one two or three years ago when the then archway was blown down in a severe gale.

This one must be slightly different from the first as that one had tendrils and was self clinging - this one has to be tied in but flowers better - can't have everything I suppose!

Anni and Himself took off at about 10.35am for their well-earned holiday - hope they have a good flight.

I hope to be picking up Miss Elephoto at the end of next week - she is BlipBears sister. From her picture, she looks lovely - she will be in good company here with me as I have quite a collection of elephants - no soft ones - but I don't suppose she will mind that. Perhaps I can do a group photo with her and some of mine.

The weather is VERY mixed - bright sunshine one minute and heavy, dark clouds the next. There was rain overnight which I was pleased about (bad grammar!) as I did manage to get the rather stretched Cosmos planted yesterday afternoon. Temperature is 58 Deg F at the moment - was 62 Deg earlier but the sun disappeared about 15 mins. ago.

Hope you have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.