"Nest building mode...."

I was so tired last night after 3 extremely busy days at work that I thought I'd go to bed early, but ended up staying awake way too long, thinking I'd sleep in this morning.....however, at 6:45 I heard the birds singing, & when I opened my eyes, the sun was shining & I didn't feel tired, so I got up, & I decided I'd head to the park for some pictures, then go do the grocery shopping. I grabbed my camera & as I came out the back door, I saw the robin trying to pull a piece of string off the stake to use for her nest. They (she & Mr. Robin) have been searching around the house for the perfect place for their nest, & although I'm not sure where they decided to place it, they're obviously starting to MAKE it! I took 2 shots of her, then went to the park & took some more--beautiful light--went & did did the grocery shopping, then came home, cleaned the house, threw in a load of laundry & then sat down to go through my pictures! This one had to be my blip! Feeling bad that she'd wanted some string but couldn't get it, I went outside & cut some smaller pieces of string for her & left them on the barrel---that's when I noticed that round 3 has gone to the squirrel!! The wire I'd used to securely hold the top of the bird feeder on was totally unwound! Now how could a squirrel do that??? But once again, the feeder was almost emptied out, & the little brat was sitting on top of it, proud as could be! Tom of course said I obviously hadn't secured the top "properly", so he is now out in the garage, starting round 4 with his own "squirrel proof top holder-downer"!! The battle continues......... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.