Mother's Day....

....My mom was one of the sweetest, most wonderful people I ever knew--open minded, loving, forgiving, & she so rarely had a bad thing to say about anyone. She loved to fly, & got her pilot's license when she was 16, but after she started having children, she never kept it up. The two of us flew to St. Louis once for my cousins' wedding & it was one of the roughest flights I've ever been on! I was white-knuckled, & clutching the armrests when I heard her laugh! I looked at her, & she had the biggest grin on her face! "Isn't this just so much fun?" she'd asked me! Here I was, an adult, & my mom STILL managed to make me feel better when I'd been terrified! As we were growing up she could put the fear of God in us when we did something wrong, but she always made sure we knew how loved we were, & as we got older, we all knew that if we asked her for help, she would be there, no matter what! What a great gift to give to your children--to know that you mattered more than anything else!
This is my mom, at age 25--it was the day of her younger sister's wedding, & she was one of the bridesmaids! That's me standing in front of her (my first blip "semi-selfie"--Ha!) --I was 2 y.o., & my older brother is about 4 here.
My mom died of lung cancer 6 1/2 years ago, & I miss her every moment of every day!
I decided this was an appropriate picture for today--of course because it's my mom--but also because Jennie's wedding is in just over 2 weeks, & all my girls will be back home! Happy Mother's Day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.