Photo Bombing Again

I dropped the X-Vario back off at the Leica Store. Definitely a nice camera and also worked wonderfully at night. The controls and layout on the camera are my favorite for a long long time. The manual focus ring / auto switch was such a delight! Nearly a love affair, but not an exact match. I even boxed up the Sony NEX this morning and all the accessories thinking that today would be the day I sell it to pay off the majority of the X-Vario... (they have a super bargain on some nearly new models that are ex-demos...)

Anyway, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. The X-Vario misses the bogey for being a 'pocket camera' and so isn't really the replacement I was looking for... The files from the X2 photos I took yesterday were beautiful also and a notch up on the X-Vario. That is tempting too for the price (another ex-demo), but then it is a miss for the manual focus ergonomics and speed of use.

The other camera I tried was the tiny D-Lux 6. It really is a pocket camera (though not that much smaller than the X2!) The bright lens took really nice pictures as the reviews will tell you. I am just not a fan of the small sensor size and hence the smearing of detail when you pixel peep. I know that isn't the best way to judge a photo, but I suppose a personal hang-up....

So, back home today empty handed - as it should be. I wasn't really in the market to buy another camera. I just kind of got caught up in the excitement of the new Leica T launch. I think I might try that camera again later on to see if they improve the firmware.

I had a very eventful walk home. As always, I cut through Via Monte Napoleone and Via Della Spiga. Then along Corso Victorio Emanuelle II to the Duomo where they had several marching bands performing along the walk! Today was really hoping and I got a lot of fun pictures like this one.

Photo bombed!! A friend taking a picture of a friend.

Don't you just love those high heels???

I'll put some more up on Flickr. Check back later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.