Lucky blip

Quite by chance this morning I blipped two of my favorite birds enjoying breakfast in the same tree. I was watching the female cardinal munching down on the cake of suet, and suddenly the downy woodpecker flew into the picture. Woodpeckers aren't known for staying long in one place, so this was indeed a lucky blip.

Apart from that bit of serendipity, there is something of a mystery about this picture. First, who stuck the cake of suet in the fork of that tree, and second, why is that piece of twine there? It doesn't seem to have any connection to the suet. This calls for some investigation. If I solve the mystery, I'll be sure to let you know.

That's it for tonight. It's time for some shut eye. One more sleep until the new year. Can you believe it is already 2010? Wasn't it just 2000? Time does fly, doesn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.