Life In Wales

By KarenC

White roses

Last night we received a beautiful bouquet of flowers from our friends Karen & Andy. They first met Louis when he was 6 months old and used to look after him for us from time to time when they lived in Belgium, so they're very upset too. It's a beautiful bouquet of white lilies and roses and the smell is amazing. I took some photos of the whole bouquet, but I like the soft focus of this single rose.

I think everything has hit me today, I've been trying to be strong, but this morning I couldn't stop crying. We're fine most of the time and then it just hits us, but I guess that's how it'll be for a while.

I sent Dot a message today to see how she is, and I told her that no-one's to blame and that I know he loved his walks with her. She said that she took two video clips of him playing with Elvis on Friday before he ran off, and asked if we'd like to see them. I said we would and we've just watched them - they were actually nice to see as he really was enjoying himself, and where they were playing was nowhere near the road.

Anyway, this afternoon we headed into town for a bit of a distraction. During May it's 'Artists Open Houses' in Brighton & Hove so we called in to see an exhibition of photographs by George Douglas who was a celebrity photographer from the 1940's - 1970's. He was originally from Rottingdean but moved to the US in 1939 and worked for the Picture Post in the 1950's. He spent a fortnight photographing Audrey Hepburn in New York when she was in Gigi, and I've bought some copies of photos he took - I may use them as a blip prop sometime. His collection was amazing and they even had two of his cameras on display, a Leica and a Rolleiflex.

We then went for lunch at Alfresco overlooking the beach. It was lovely and sunny but there were very strong winds, so it was ideal as we could look out to sea and feel like we were eating outside but were nice and sheltered. The food was lovely and they were very generous portions, so we decided to walk it off and walked to the marina where we then caught the bus home.

Alan recorded the F1 so when we got in we sat down to watch it, but for some reason it hasn't actually recorded. It's so annoying and he checked the record list and it was definitely set, so now we've got wait until the highlights are on later.

Thank you for putting yesterday's blip on the spotlight. My daughter's and my friend's blips of Louis also hit the spotlight! I apologise for not commenting at the moment, it's just important for Alan and I to spend the time together coming to terms with our loss, but I hope you're all ok and I'll catch up with you soon x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.