A Rare Encounter!

,......of the penguin kind.

Those who know me will understand my shear excitement when finding these little beauties, couldn't believe my eyes as it was at the very end of the day, darkness was creeping in rather quickly.

Hubby and I had been on the search, sussed out a couple of spots during the day and were hopeful to return to at least one spot. We chose not the best of sites at Shag Point and waited, and waited, and waited. People came and went while we still waited. Suddenly I spotted one but it was just a blob amongst the rocks as it was sooo far away.

After a few shots and a quick consultation we decided to head to the lighthouse where there had been strong evidence that Penguins had been around. By this time it was 5.10pm, gates are locked at 6pm and sunset was at 5.21pm - we were pushing it, to say the least. By the time we walked out to the peninsula sunset was supposed to be happening, it was nearly raining and light was low.

We could hear them calling, loud shrieks and then all of a sudden there were two just quietly making their way up to us from the beach - I couldn't believe it! Fumbling with the camera I started to take shots and was horribly disappointed to find white blobs against complete darkness - damn! Quick, try Tv with auto ISO - didn't work, manual with auto ISO - still nothing, in desperation I went for P with auto ISO and this was the result - finally a half decent shot and there were more.

What an amazing experience to see our Yellow Eyed Penguins in the wild. They are vulnerable, endangered and endemic, only found in selected areas round New Zealand.

I'm behind with blip, we have done so much and I have a lot to record along with yesterday's blip which I'll do at a later date. Yesterday was a slower pace as I woke with a migraine and suffered for most of the day, today I've felt much better but very weary. The weather hasn't been the best for outdoor activities but we have attempted to get out and about with our wet weather gear on, hats and gloves. Absolutely no sunrises or sunsets to speak off, lots of cloud and rain with the odd pocket of sun, tomorrow we move on to another location - heading inland.

I'll touch base when I can, keep well blippers :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.