Moeraki Boulders

Recapping - this is a backblip with hubby and I on our second day of our 2 week break away.

Yesterday as we travelled south towards the small fishing settlement of Moeraki we stopped by fellow blipper Rainie and her husband Doug. Rainie and I got talking photography as you do and a challenge was put in place, Rainie wanted to see lovely silky water flowing over the Moeraki Boulders taken by me. I left with instructions and thought no worries.

After a full day of being out and about we finally got to the boulders late afternoon. First problem, the tide was mostly out and the second problem, light was fading fast as it was close to sunset and the weather was showery and dull with odd bits of light.

With tripod in hand we ambled along the beach and crossed a small creek before coming across the boulders. I was so confident I could do this, set up and started to click away BUT I didn't fully understand the shutter times and couldn't work out all the little apostrophes in their different positions, I had no handbook as it was in the car so muddled my way through. Consequently I didn't get the lovely silky water Rainie and I were after, my first attempt at long exposure is here......the above shot was my very last shot before we called it a day.

Dusk was creeping in fast as we ambled back along the beach, crossed the creek, which was deeper than the first time as the water was so clear the bottom didn't look far away and the light was quite poor, wet feet for myself was inevitable.

By the time we pulled out of the carpark it was dark, and the challenge, well it will have to be continued at a later date.

Earlier in the day we had visited the small seaside settlements of Karitane and Waikouaiti, both reaped in history from the arrival of Maori to Whalers and the early days of the Colonists. After seeing the beaches, Karitane Pinnacles and Waikouaiti River we headed out to the back of Waikouaiti to the Historic Matanaka Farm. The five buildings are the oldest surviving farm buildings that are still in their original position in New Zealand, built in 1840. The farm buildings are listed as Category 1. A bit off the beaten track but well worth the drive up the gravel road and walk through farmland and trees to the headland, the view must be amazing on a sunny day - I just got the moody shots in between rain and showers.

An awesome day in all kinds of weather :)

Other shots:

Waikouaiti River Mouth

More Whoosh at Karitane Pinnacles

Road into Karitane

Matanaka Farm Schoolhouse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.