The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

European Hustings

Another one of those food for the brain nights.

Me and Dawn went to the European Election Hustings on the environment tonight. We had been asked if we would like to attend by RSPB Cymru. The views here are my own and in no way reflect the views of any of the organisations that organised the event.

All the six main parties were represented on the panel. I am not a political animal but I am interested in what the parties have to say.

We were all invited to submit a question. Mine got chosen first. I asked what environmental issue did each candidate want to be pro active about in the next session, rather than reacting such as the case of the Maltese hunting storm. There was a wide range of answers, from agriculture to fracking to enforcing the existing laws. Fascinating stuff!

What impressed me on the night was there was political point scoring, each party said what they stood for rather than having a go at the other candidates.

The Maltese hunting row got unanimous condemnation, as well as criticism of our own record which was good to note.

Other questions covered agricultural policy and the effects of pulling out of the EU. It was a interesting evening and I was rather glad I went.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.