A Bit Better

Bags was taking a cake decorating course in Edinburgh today which meant I was on taxi duty.

On the way back from dropping her off I took the opportunity to take a couple of shots of a gateway I have meant to shoot for years.
There are two date carved into it - 1692 and 1829. I think some research is called for.

Walking back to the car the wonderful scent from the lilac was just too good to resist.

On the way back into town there were some marvellous clouds to the south, but to the north I could see rain coming down the Forth on the Fife side.
The farmer was obviously working hard to get his spraying done before the rain arrived.

And arrive it did.

Boy was the thunder loud and the lightning bright.
I am glad we were in the car!


EDIT .............. The Gateway belongs to the old Haltoun House - also known as Hatton House (which no longer exists). The later date on it relates to when it was moved from its original position although the earlier date doesn't appear to link up to anything on record relating to the house ..... which predated the 1692 date by up to a couple of hundred years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.