Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunset, The Yells

I find sunsets more difficult to photograph. I don't know why, I mean at least it's at a time when most people are awake! It's just that I have built up my experience shooting in the morning and I am used to how the light develops from pre-dawn onwards.

Sunset, on the other hand, sneaks up on me and the light fades very quickly. I don't predict well how the light will change. I need more practice. That's why I went out tonight, walking across a haylage field, socks soaked to prove how wet it was. The area behind Yells Farm and Brookfields Farm is a high point in the area and I thought it would be a good option for a sunset.

Technical: Controlling the light required 3 stops of neutral density graduated filter (and then some). Other than that it is a straight shot, HDR not needed. Lightroom really is a gem at pulling out shadow or dealing with highlights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.