Ruby throated hummingbird

A few days ago I put up a hummingbird feeder, which Tom thought was a waste, as we've never seen hummingbirds around our house! But 2 of my friends have been seeing them already, although they live much farther away from the Lake so it's warmer by their houses, but I thought I'd put one up & see if we could get some here. When I came home yesterday, Tom was outside waiting for me with "the look" (translated-- that means he didn't like something I'd done!) So I said "WHAT!" (I HATE that look!) & he says to come look at the hummingbird feeder, which was pretty much covered in ants! He wanted me to take it down, as it's on the outside of our sunroom & he didn't want an ant infestation! (I have to admit I didn't expect the ants). So I called one of my friends & asked if her feeder gets ants, & she said it sure did--to be expected! So I told him I was leaving it up, which he didn't appreciate, but I compromised---I told him if we didn't get any hummingbirds in a few days I'd move it. Today I was standing in the kitchen talking to another friend of mine on the phone & I was looking out the window when all of a sudden in zooms a hummingbird! I told her to hang on, & ran for the camera. I got a few shots, & was telling her the whole ant story when I see a flash of orange outside, & darned if the Baltimore Oriole wasn't out there too!! It was sitting on the jar of jelly I'd put out for it!! I told her that I really had to go, dropped the phone, picked the camera back up & took a couple pictures of the Oriole too! The Orioles only migrate through this area once a year--always around mother's day--so we rarely see them! So exciting!! Today's been a good day!! Haha! Well worth a look at the Oriole too! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.