Puddle

After the rain there were a few puddles around. More than a few, given our water table is so high.

A large puddle (use your imagination and see a shark ;-)

Hopefully no one was flooded. The rain wasn't accompanied by wind so my leaks didn't perform. I'm sure there is enough wet and damp in places I'd rather not think about. Only 25 more days to go and I'm out for repairs.

I got home to find 30 flat-packed cartons (protected from the rain by heavy plastic), an exposed roll of bubble wrap (now drying in the lounge) and a large wad of wrapping paper (slightly damp). It's starting to feel (and look) very real.

My insurance company is rolling with the 2 temporary addresses I have to make. That's good. They also want to know details re: damaged curtains and carpet, pending EQC's decision on the leaks being caused by earthquake damage. I feel another round of photos and emails coming on but it will be worth it have everything documented and ready to go if necessary.

I biked home through town today. My first trip down Armagh St, well as far as I could go before cutting down between the old courts and river to get to Colombo St. It's bizarre. Whole blocks of the CBD are missing.

I had a wry smile to myself. I'm an import to Christchurch and Canterbury. I've never understood the Canterbury thing about having forebears on the first four ships from England. Since the earthquakes I notice people are very quiet about claiming fame to the first four ships of settlers to Canterbury.

Understandable as it's proved to be a dumb idea to plant a staff in a swamp and then build a city in it.

And with that I shall cut a track to my local supermarket, the one with over 500 - 700 concrete piles driven 20+m into the swamp to find solid ground. I should be safe ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.