Monster!

Having encountered it n the bathroom this morning, Marian called to me to bring my macro lens. Unfortunately, my macro lens was tucked away in a neoprene bag which was a bit tight for it. By the time I'd managed to get it out and mounted on the camera there were calls to come quick before it escaped. I got down on my knees on the bathroom floor feeling very vulnerable and took a few shots. I decided that I needed to get him corralled if I was to stand a chance of getting a shot in some decent light. I first got him into the cap of a bottle and took him upstairs where he was decanted into a pottery bowl with steep sides, which I hoped would contain him.

I took a few shots and then decided that a focus stack would be the thing, so I got the tripod out. I'm not sure it was that successful because it's not as sharp or detailed as I would have liked but there you are.

How big is he? About the length of the top joint of your thumb. I would like you to know that no scorpions were harmed in the taking of this image. He was extremely aggravated though!

I hope no one's got your back up today.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.