Reality...

With a bump!

Back to work. It's fair to say it was a shock to the system getting out of bed. Worse to leave someone in bed!

I was about to say life is unfair some days but then I remembered the lady with her son on the donkey. I can't seem to help but think of her, mostly when I'm complaining about something or when I'm wishing for more. I have a lot to be thankful for.

There were a lot of lovely emails to go through from people who came along on the London to Paris cycle. It's so nice when people are complimentary, but, I love most that they all had a good time. That makes me ridiculously happy and I'm fairly sure that's why I like organising events. When you're good at something, it's usually because you thoroughly enjoy doing it. I'm thankful that I have a job that allows me to do that.

I've spent a number of years whinging about work. I'm not alone. We all do it. I've heard us. The pros finally outweigh the cons. It's taken me 12 years to get there. 12 years.

I think if you stop for a moment, look around you and consider all the things in your life that are shit hot instead of just shit, you can find sometimes with surprise that you have more good shit than bad going on.

I get to be me. I get to be myself at home, at work, with my friends, with my family, with my boy. The people in my life love put up with me, just as I am. That isn't a material possession. It isn't something you can buy. It isn't something you can pretend you have. If you're not being yourself, it may only be you who knows it, but you know it. To be able to you be yourself, with people you love and who love you back is special. That's not something I take for granted, I have in the past, I'm not doing that any more. I'm another year older. I'm non the wiser, but on the whole, I'm happy. Taking a moment to appreciate the things in your life that are priceless... precious.

Apologies for the tardy back blipping... my mojo took a while to get over the jet lag.

Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.
Epicurus



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.