Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pregnant Pause

I mean that literally.

This apparent mama-to-be took a long break on my wall this morning as I was just standing and staring out the door.  I watched her for a couple of minutes, not wanting to go for my camera, because I was more interested in seeing what she was doing.  

Gambel's quail are rarely seen alone.  I suspect that if she had a mate with her that a predator - a snake, a Sharp-shinned hawk - may have gotten to him.  She kept looking in this direction...just standing still and turning her head in that one direction as if she was expecting someone at any moment.  

I felt sad for her. These birds are monogamous during the breeding season.  

Females lay between 10 - 12 eggs in a brood. The females incubate the eggs for 21 to 24 days.  The young follow their parents for days after their birth. Both parents raise their young and try to protect them from predators.  (Watching new quail families roam is one of the joys of living in the desert!)

But how does a  Gambel's quail single mom  raise her family?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.