Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Wedding, June 29, 1932

The bride and groom on the left are my Grandpa and Grandma. My Great-Uncle Joe was the Best Man and Great-Aunt Nina was the Maiden of Honor.

I was extremely close to my grandparents. He was a High School woodworking shop teacher who was once honored as "Teacher of the Year" in the City of Buffalo. He would bring home old textbooks, paper and chalk and had a chalkboard in his basement where my cousins and I could play school.

Grandma would take me to Woolworth's Five and Dime store where she would buy me penny candy. She also took me to play Bingo with her and let me keep the money if I won. She didn't learn how to drive until she was sixty. Grandpa had a lot of patience and sat in the car a lot.

Grandma died in 1979 at the age of sixty-nine of heart failure and Grandpa a year later of a broken heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.