Always the Sea

By SoLisa

'Mother....'

I was about to go to bed last night when I had a phone call from a frantic daughter. She's stuck in traffic in gridlocked Manhattan and has a plane to catch. For some reason this is now my problem.
Have you checked in online?
Of course not.
Where exactly are you?
Who knows...
The exchange might have been a bit more heated than that.
From my sofa three thousand miles away, I checked her in online, found her exact location and with the help of google maps directed her through the streets to the subway station. She caught the plane and I got to drive to Heathrow this morning and stand around for a couple of hours waiting for her (late) arrival. My children were less time consuming when they were toddlers.
She brought me back a present - a big bag of Reece's Pieces. I might eat them all at once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.