weewilkie

By weewilkie

colour and texture our emotions

Went out for a wee blip trip to Victoria Park. The light was pretty rubbish, but I did get a few nice images. This one really appealed to me. It's not apparently clear why, but I think it's to do with the contrast of colour and texture of the pine tree and its cones.

So little aware are we of the lenses of feelings we view our day through. Lenses of colour and texture we bring to each encounter, each thought. Sometimes we surprise or shock ourselves by an over-reaction to something said or a sudden gloomy feeling that descends on us for no seemingly good reason.
These are the colours and textures of our emotions and they inform everything we do. It's such a difficult thing to unpick the threads of why we see the world a certain way at a certain time. A million billion wee histories of encounter and slights and fears and hope all focusing into any given moment in time. I like to think of myself as emotionally literate, but really what do I know about myself and motivations?
Yet this image resonates in me. Something about the dappled light of woodlands and a high old green splashed time of it. Bird song and blossom scented. Pine cones popping. Nature, in other words. That green time where the iron in the blood aligns to magnetic North and I suddenly get the sense of a direction Home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.