My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Iris in the Sun.....

...........looked beautiful earlier this morning. There are several clumps of these all over the place - I love them!

I blipped the yellow ones on the 4th of May (still looking good) but I think I prefer these. I seem to be developing a "blue/mauve" garden - what with bluebells, solanum, aquilegia, blue primroses. allium,clematis, scilla, muscari etc - but it is a very restful colour.

Looks nicer on large

A neighbour moved a very heavy tub for me yesterday - unfortunately, in the process, snapped off the top of my 7ft high foxglove!! Just hope it might send up more flower spikes!! He was very upset but accidents happen!!

Another beautiful morning - only very thin wisps of cloud to be seen and at 10am, it is already 65Deg F. L0vely!

BOUI for today:-

1) The iris’s history is rich, dating back to Ancient Greek times when the Greek Goddess Iris, the messenger of the gods and the personification of the rainbow, acted as the link between heaven and earth.

2) Ancient Egyptian kings marvelled in the iris’s exotic nature, and drawings have been found of the flower in a number of Egyptian palaces.

3) Their primary meanings include faith, hope, wisdom, courage, and admiration. With striking uniqueness and beauty, irises have rich meanings, and when given as gifts, they can convey deep sentiments.

4) Today, the iris is the state flower of Tennessee, and the Fleur-de-lis is the emblem for the city of New Orleans.

Have a great day everyone - it's nearly weekend again!!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.