Wood Violets

In the U.S. the idea of state flowers was first brought up in 1908, & in 1909 school children in Wisconsin voted for the wood violets as our official state flower, narrowly beating out the wild rose, trailing arbutus & the white water lilly. How fortunate for me, as I wouldn't recognize a trailing arbutus if it jumped up & bit me on the behind! Wood violets I recognize! These small violets are commonly seen in wet woodlands, meadow areas, & along roads & they bloom between March & June. Not only is it the state flower of Wisconsin, but it also holds that title in Illinois, New Jersey & Rhode Island! The leaves are said to be very tasty & can be used in salads, candies & jellies........I've never tried them, but if I'm ever lost in the woods & starving to death, I just might! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.