carliewired

By carliewired

Pink Dogwood

Happy in dappled
sunlight, squeezed between the pines
How did I miss you?

~ carliewired

As I drove into the yard on Friday, a flash of pink over the back fence caught my attention. I had to go investigate. I walked past the new landscaping in my yard to peer over the fence down into the old landscaping below. I discovered that my neighbours have a thirty foot pink dogwood tree growing along the edge of the fence. Although I've lived in my house for more than a dozen years, I've not seen this tree in bloom before. Somehow, my old landscaping blocked this glorious view.

The Pacific dogwood (Cornus nutallii) is the provincial flower for our province of British Columbia. It has a white bloom with six bracts. It is really lovely, especially when several trees are grouped together. However, it doesn't carry anywhere near the impact of this pink version next door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.