keithyboy

By keithyboy

All the M's

Monday, Manflu, Malt, Manuka and Muffins!

So I was supposed to work Sunday night but my better half decided that bed was the best place for me, she had already covered the first 2 hours of my shift then sent me home almost immediately when I coughed and spluttered through the door. Thankfully for me it was only 10pm so the liquor store was still open, along with the supermarket, long story short... I have access to the worlds finest ingredients for a hot toddy! Scanning the shelves of the liquor store, something stirred a memory that Aberlour wasn't a bad whisky, perhaps other malt drinkers will disagree but I remember trying it many years ago and finding it quite pallatable. Perfect for mixing with honey and lemon! Next stop the supermarket, the only place open to buy Manuka Honey, a much sought after resource from Otago. Harvested from the Manuka forest, this stuff is fantastic. Honey is a condement on my list of dislikes but somehow it turns me into Winnie the Pooh as my paws shovel it straight to my rumbly tum tum (I think thats a quote).

As I was saying, home and the fireplace followed by an early bed were tonights highlights along with a chance to meet the new flatmate and ramble at her after a few hot toddys. Perhaps not the best introduction but now we are even on the number of times we have met on opposite sides of the sober/drunk spectrum. A rather responsible me makes the bed and fills the hot water bottles for Nomi coming home, a small token of thanks to go with the maple and wallnut fudge from the local speciality sweet shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.