La Tour

I went for a walk this morning and it was very demanding and interesting. A few days ago when George and I went for a walk into town by the byways, we followed a path that seemed to come to a halt. We met a workman who showed us where the path went and told us some facts about where the path went and what we would see on the way. No, our French isn't that good but fortunately he hailed from Liverpool. We failed to find the route described on that occasion and went a different way. This morning I was determined to find the path and with some difficulty I managed it.

There are some very old derelict buildings, covered in ivy, which I understand is an old tannery in the style of North African tanneries. I've never seen such things so I can't compare. There was also an old mill, probably an olive oil mill, which still has its metal work wheel with some wooden bits hanging from it. It looks like an overshot wheel as there seemed to be some stone work directing water to that area. There's also an aqueduct or viaduct on a lower level, perhaps taking water to tanks further away. I've put some photos on Flickr and you can see them here if you're interested.

When I eventually reached Bargemon, scratched and hot, I took a walk around with the fisheye lens and this shot of the Tour du Clos is my favourite of them. There are a few more here.

It's been a lovely day but very windy this afternoon. I hope your day's been good.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.