Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Make Yourself Comfortable, Dear Mother!

I was so please that The Mother was gaining enough strength to be taken out shopping today but, when the phone rang at 7.30am saying her right arm was sore and numb I had my doubts. I went over and by that time she said it felt a bit better and warmer. She had this happen once before so I went back home for breakfast and to get washed and properly dressed.

When I went back to get her back I found that her hand was purple. Against her wishes, she wanted to go into town, I called the doctor. She came at 12 and found that mum had no pulse in her right wrist. Now why didn't I check that? I know that pulse rate is important to help a doctor assess the urgency of a visit!

So with the strong possibility of an embolism in her arm I took her up to the Infirmary where I left her with a heparin drip awaiting a scan. I later found out that she is to have an operation in the morning to remove the clot.

She has been recovering so well from a poor state last week she could have done without this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.