horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Monday, Monday

With apologies to John Phillips and the Mamas & the Papas...

Monday Monday, in January,
Monday Monday, it was all I thought it would be
Oh Monday morning, Monday morning alarm wakes me
Then Monday evening I should still be home for tea

Monday Monday, can't trust that day,
Monday Monday, sometimes work just gets in the way
Oh Monday morning, you gave me some snowing, I left the fixie
Oh Monday Monday, the roads were bad, time for MTB

Every other day, every other day,
Every other day of the week is fine, yeah
But whenever Monday comes, but whenever Monday comes
You can find me workin' all of the time

Monday Monday, in January,
Monday Monday, most on holiday that's statutory
Oh Monday morning, Monday morning roads are free
And Monday evening I should finish before 5.30

Every other day, every other day,
Every other day of the week is fine, yeah
But whenever Monday comes, but whenever Monday comes
You can find me workin' all of the time

Monday Monday, ...

-----------

Yip, while a large proportion of Scotland enjoys the extra day off granted to the nation as a whole for its collective Hogmanay hangover, I'm at my desk. It did mean the roads were quite quiet as I loaded myself onto the mountain bike instead of the road bike for the morning commute. The roads out with us are still abysmal, with snow getting churned, but not being warm enough to melt to slush, so taking on the consistency of heavy sand. Perfect for sliding the front wheel about. City centre roads were better, but it was still necessary to ride more or less down the centre of the lane.

I can't complain really, since the number of emails received while I've been off was nowhere near as high as expected, and a couple of people who generally make life more difficult in here are both off for the whole week. But. I've got coldsores suddenly sprung up for the first time in over a year; 10 days off the bike has rendered my cycling legs like jelly; and the ride home, with the dark added to the mix, is likely to be less enjoyable than watching 'celebrity' big brother (and no, I have absolutely no desire to know who is in the house this year).

If I get a good shot of the bike going home tonight I might change this picture, but I think it sums up being back in to the office. Still, a long weekend away is on the cards for the end of the month; with a trip to London (for the Royal Ballet dontcha know) in the middle of March. When all else fails, think of the holidays coming up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.