horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Lochan Na Lainge

The wintry reservoir in the Ben Lawers park saves you further punnery in the form of 'Snow Deer'...

Last day off (I'd emailed my two bosses on 27th December asking if, since today was a public holiday in Scotland (cheeky, since I know one of the bosses, before becoming a boss, had indicated the two days holiday afforded Scottish workers would be abided by before she, unsurprisingly, forgot about such promises), would it be okay if I took the day off as part of my new year of annual leave - I got a response in the positive. This morning. I'd offered to check my work emails while off over the Christmas period, and received similar assurances from the bosses - looks like only one third stuck to that promise), where was I? Oh yes, last day off so we headed out of the city, striking for the hills and valleys (namely Ben Lawers and Glen Lyon).

The weather, as you can see, was stinky, but it did us good to get extra-urban.

The drive is always fin as well on little twisty roads, though some sections, with the thaw in place, are more river-like. Coming to one S-bend section there was the obligatory warning sign. This was bolstered by large chevron signs framed, just in case you missed them, in fluoro yellow. And just in case all of that warning passed you by, at some point later they have added 3 sets of rumble strips before entering the treachourous domain of the 90 degree bends. And then (and I love this bit) they've erected signs warning you about... the rumble strips.

The overkill cheered me up from an intended rant after listening to the Daily-Wail-on-the-radio that is the Jeremy Vine show on Radio 2. I presume the producers of the show check with the Daily Wail editors on what they're going to bring up so that they can cover the same topics and get people on to spout bile before they've used it all up on the comments section of the aforementioned scaremongering xenophobic barely-literate keeping-our-people's-princess's-memory-alive national newspaper's website.

It'll keep.

I'll erect a sign to warn you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.