horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Snowy Sustrans Soul

The mountain bike (built around a Cotic Soul frame in case you wondered at the title) remains the commuting vehicle of choice. The roads would be passable on the road bike by now (after walking it out of our snowbound street) but this just feels a little more assured when you hit some ice, or snow that gives way, or snow that doesn't give way. Basically I reckon there's more chance of staying upright on this. And throw in the rutted and rough semi-frozen snow of the cyclepath...

Second day back at work always feels worse than the first in my experience. It's the day that maes you realise that you are definitely back into the daily grind. It's still tempered by a relaxed office, and I heard back today from the editor of The Ride Journal that he likes an article I've written on cycle speedway, and with a few tweaks and additions (which are easy to do, Open Office lied to me about the word count, saying there were 200 more words than there actually were!) will be happy to print it.

I'd actually cancelled the January edition of my own website partly because the Christmas period had just left me with very little time to complete it, and partly because there were a few other things I wanted to get done first, like this article. So it's satisfying that that has paid off.

Something to keep your brain ticking over now. I can remember this from way back in my schooldays (in Latin class, which did more for my English grammar than English classes ever did), and was reminded of it just before Christmas. There's a sentence you can construct with 8 'had's in a row which is completely grammatically correct.

Let's see what you can come up with (answer tomorrow if no-one can come up with a sentence).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.