Weight training

First thing a bee inspection. Wasn't planned so I wasn't properly prepared. Got half way through when I realised bees were beginning to get agitated. Collected gloves and hood but didn't don them, continuing in just Tshirt, shorts & sandals. Didn't take long until one got stuck in my hair and I stupidly tried to brush it away. Like my grandson Elliot in October, got my first ever bee sting in the skull but as he had been so brave, I had to grit my teeth and not let out a cry!

Then put on the gear and did what I could but am now out of my depth and need MrB's help. Think a round of honey extraction and tidying up (reducing hive to two stories) and even possibly splitting hive may be required. Still waiting for my new hive and other honey storage gear. The apiarist world is slower than most....

Then as soon as I was finished Angie sent me off with the horse trailer to pick up a few grass paving slabs, appropriatly the "honeycomb" type, which she wants to lay from one of the horse fields in to the stream so that the horses can go in the water. She had found them being given away free.

So I took off with the dogs in the 30°C midday sun while Angie went for a 3 hour lying down session in a relaxing chair. Typical.

Drove to Waal near Landsberg about 45km and very close to our last home in Grosskitzighofen. Very friendly young mum with two young children and another on the way. Luckily could drive right up to the pile and loaded the stones, accompanied throughout by the 3 or 4 y.o. daughter chatting about all sorts of important things - horses, princesses, things pink etc, etc.

When finished, Luna was introduced to the children and we then took off and found a shaded place to let the dogs out for a quick run before heading home.

Return journey took a bit longer as I strictly stuck to the speed limit for trailers on the autobahn - 80 km/h. Boring but I was a bit concerned about the weight, not that the good solid Welsh Ifor Williams wouldn't cope but more the tyres in the heat and I was clearly overloaded. Weighed one of the slaps - 28kg and I had about 80. Legally can take a payload of 1500kg but I reckon that I had 2000kg on board and the trailer itself weighs nearly 1000kg. The Jeep can legally pull 3500kg so that part was OK but luckily the control point near home was not being used and we got home without any problems.

Having already lifted 2 tons, I didn't feel up to unloadeing them and hope we can get the ground prepared tomorrow so that I can place the stones without having to temporarily store them elsewhere.

While I recovered indoors (fell asleep on the sofa after catching up on lunch) Angie must have returned from her session clearly relaxed as I could hear her whizzing around the garden on the garden tractor. She had been at the dentist having some work done! Rather load stones than lie down at the dentists!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.