Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Postcard from Oman

Blipping this a day late...

We have travelled to Oman and had the longest wait at the border ever! 2 hours. Seems like hundreds of other people chose to travel up on Friday as well and some were even doing visa runs! I think the people behind the counter were doing their best but there just weren't enough of them.

Oman borders much of the UAE but the two countries couldn't be more different. The bull being transported - that's a sight I've never seen in Dubai. The Hajar Mountains run through much of the country and Muscat city itself is nestled between the Arabian Sea and the mountains.

Hilde took us to a newly opened restaurant called Jungle where she and G admired the local wildlife... they DO have delicious food I have to say; and lastly we took a drive down to Muscat's historical sea front - Muttrah where these old Portuguese style houses are well preserved and I seriously need to get some pictures of them while I am here.

Tried to catch some of the meteor shower from the rooftop but think it would be more visible in the small hours of the morning. Too late for me to try to stay awake after a busy week, long drive in the heat and Muscat is definitely hotter than Dubai! Think I got to bed just after midnight.

PS. G got an awesome blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.