Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Stark

Wow. What a (non-stop) day! So glad I allowed myself a lie-in.

Made it to the doctors on time and found myself waiting nearly 90 minutes. Ugh. All test results very good; so I really had to press the doctor to try to explain why I've been so exhausted! He suggests upping my iron supplement.

Raced home to have enough time to eat before heading out again to meet up with our new pastor and his wife. We are taking them to see the mountains on the East Coast! I had planned what may have been too ambitious a route taking in the "best" scenery possible before getting to a hotel on the Indian Ocean for dinner. Fortunately the visibility was the best it's been for weeks though you couldn't describe it as good by any stretch of the imagination!

The route took us right past Fossil Rock - the rounded outcrop on the left in the middle of the dessert which is full of marine fossils! Yep; this whole plain was the bed of the Indian Ocean millenea ago. True story. It was way too hot to stop to get out of the car for photos. G has taken this through the windscreen of the car.

I think our guests were pleased there is variety in the landscape of their newly adopted "home". I thought it was going rather well till they showed us a picture of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Fall. You really can't compare! Oh well...

We had a good few hours and saw some very different parts of the country. I had hoped we would be back by 9pm; tomorrow being a working day and all, but we actually only just made it back before midnight, too hot and too tired to even think of blipping.

Thank you for your concern about my health. I seem to be tired a lot - one reason just *may* be the oppressive heat that we are starting to experience. 42degC today. That's it for the next few months...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.