CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Back where they started

I drove down to Heathrow today to collect our little family. I got stuck on the M40 for about an hour, due to an accident (I really hope the poor people in the accident are ok) then I had to get off the motorway to check my tyres as the flat tyre warning came on (and yes, the tyres were were ok, but that worries me as the warning sign is obviously faulty) then there was another notification for a delay on the M25. Horrendous.

I had planned to get there very early and have a coffee and relax for a while. Instead I spent the last half an hour worrying myself silly that they may get on the next flight back to Taiwan as I wasn't there to meet them!

Anyway. I was there, (just!) they were all grinning like Cheshire cats, and the journey back home was uneventful. Quite remarkable seeing as they had just travelled for 26 hours with two youngsters, one aged 5 and the other just 1.

An hour after we arrived home. we then went for a walk around the village, and finished up at the church where they were married. This is quite funny as it's almost identical to their favourite wedding photo, but with the addition of two children.

Maybe less hair (on our son's head) but they still look as happy as the day they wed.

We've just finished their "fantasy meal" of roast beef, Yorkshire puds, and all the trimmings, plus Evesham asparagus as a starter.

They are fast asleep now (9:45 pm but 4:45 am for them) so all is well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.