Slow start to the morning!

This is why it takes me ages to get going in the morning now. I ran the light trap in the garden last night. It was a bit of a wash-out at dawn, before I managed to get to it, but I did catch three new species (for me/my garden) amongst the soggy egg boxes in the bottom of the trap (used to give the moths some shelter). This one was typical of last night's catch - rather faded, washed-out colours and quite subtle markings. It is a Rustic Shoulder-knot, Apamea sordens, an identification now confirmed by emailing this photo to my county experts. The little woodlouse was an enexpected extra (and I've not tried to id that! Incidentally, the grid is made up of 5mm squares, useful for checking size. I'm quite pleased to have correctly identified this and the other two today, but only after poring over books for about an hour. That's where the early part of the day goes!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.