Leanne's Random Photos

By Leannespics

Different sort of bird

Well, none of the other birds would stay in one place long enough for my lens to catch up to them. This one was poised beautifully. Not much of a challenge, but colors were pretty.

I'm sure I was tempting fate when I stated yesterday that I didn't have much to do.....so this morning I got an email telling me it was MY turn to host our bunco group (a mindless dice game that involves 12 women, lots of chatting and alcohol). This Friday night! Yikes!! A few years ago, I stressed myself out so much trying to get the house "perfect" for bunco that I had something like a stroke and wound up in the ER with an awful headache, numbness in my arm & lips and an inablity to put my thoughts together. Not good!

So, my plan of attack this time, is to NOT stress out! Even though I have not had time to plan ahead! I'm going to keep it simple. Easy dinner meal. Easy drinks. Don't expect the house to look like no one lives here. I will let my housekeeper do her magic on Thursday & declutter right along with her.

Do I sound like I'm trying to convince myself? Probably so!

That word "perfect," I have learned, is bad news. I really cringe when people tell kids that they are "perfect". It's too high of an expectation. It gives no room for compromise. No exception for human fault. When that expectation isn't met, perfectionists feel failure. And the next time they try, they hesitate, procrastinate, and avoid the task for fear they won't get it "perfect". The only way we learn and get things accomplished is by trying our best, risking failure.

Of course, that won't stop me from getting the "perfect" shot of a hummingbird!!! That's certainly an obsession! :)

Well, those are just thoughts off the top of my head tonight. It is definately time for bed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.