Out to lunch with Tookie

When Tookie (Clare) mentioned a little while back that she expected to be in Ohio visiting family in late May, I asked her to let me know the dates so we could arrange a blipmeet. Today was the eagerly anticipated day, and what a great day it was. Starting in mid-morning, we kept going right through the supper hour. I had a wonderful time, and I think Clare did too, as we drove around the Eastern suburbs of Cleveland, triggering countless memories of her years in Ohio.

Anyone who has participated in a blipmeet will recognize the magical experience of spending a day with someone you've never met before and somehow recognizing in them a kindred spirit and a friend you feel like you have known forever. That's what today was like for me. A morning walk in "my" park; lunch at Jack's Deli near the neighborhood where Clare grew up; a visit to President James A. Garfield's memorial in Lakeview Cemetery where her grandfather once served as gatekeeper, and on and on and on! The memories kept tumbling out, and eventually we found ourselves at Foster's Ice Cream stand, another blast from the past for Clare (and a very tasty treat for today too). I could go on forever, but I'm beginning to ramble, and it's time for bed. I've had a great day, and Clare is as delightful as I knew she would be. I'm already looking forward to her next trip back to Ohio. There are still plenty of places to visit and memories to unleash. Thanks, Clare, for spending an entire day of your visit with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.