Path to the River

It was one of those busy days today. I had to go to the doctor this morning before taking Arvin to Ferndale for his Getting Connected session. My appointment was easy and I found out what was going on, a small problem I have that is easily corrected. Yay!

We got to Ferndale early and sat for half an hour with the usual gang at the Senior Center. Three of the folks take wood carving on Tuesday mornings and have lunch afterwards. One of them is blind and he is still carving. Nice work too. Another is a friend I've met through the care givers' support group. She is nifty. But today I had a long conversation with a man who was a research librarian before he retired. He has created a website about woodwork from the arts and crafts movement. He told me about a Renaissance artist who developed perspective in his drawings. He drew his room where there was furniture that looked like it could have been made by the arts and crafts movement at the turn of the 20th century. And he drew those drawings in the 16th century. Fascinating. I used to sing lots of Renaissance music so off we went discussing the Renaissance and the bursting forth of art and music during that time.

It was an absolutely gorgeous day today so after Arvin joined his group I drove a small distance to a parking lot along the Nooksack River. I hadn't been there but soon found it was the beginning of a path that lead to the Hovander Homestead Park, so I walked for a mile to the park and a mile back. Along the way I took a path through the woods to the river. That is the subject of today's blip. I liked how it looked in mono. Looks nice in large too.

After the walk I picked up Arvin and we went to Haggen's to do some shopping and pick up the prescription I got at the doctor's office. Helena was home when we got there. The three of us are having a quiet evening now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.