On a Walk around the City

I had to go out this morning so thought I would call into the city to see how things were progress with a few buildings. It was so lovely and warm around 22c with no wind. This is the first time I have been in the city since my fall and I was so careful not to do that again!

We were told that a southerly change would take place early afternoon and I could see the black colours over the hills. You can see in this shot bottom right, the clouds rolling in fast. I just got to the car and when the the southerly hit slamming my car door.. luckily it didn't get my legs! It sure got windy the city looked like it was having a sandstorm and temperature drop down to 11c very fast.

I saw so many things I wanted to blip about that is why I did another collage. Starting with the Top left shot: Here the are fixing cracks in the building.. looks a little like a art piece.

Middle Top: This is where the retailers on the northern side of Cashel Mall will shifting to. The area is bounded by Oxford Tce, Cashel St, Plymouth Lane and Lichfield St. Because there is a new Retail Precinct develops and permanent buildings that will be built on that space soon. For more information on this development.

Top Right: The Stencil Art Project is showcasing the young people of Christchurch in a powerful and personal display of public art. Participants are taught how to make a self-portrait stencil which is then spray-painted on to the hoardings around The Terrace development site on Cashel Street.

"The idea is to encourage creativity and re-engagement of young people and their families within central Christchurch through artistic expression," says SCAPE Public Art Director Deborah McCormack.

A collaboration between SCAPE Public Art and Westpac, the project is supported by Christchurch City Council through its Transitional City Projects Fund.
For more information on this.

Bottom Left: Is what is left of the former Majestic Theatre is on the corner Manchester and Lichfield Streets. Here is the blip I did on it, May 18.

Middle Right: Is the demolition the old Millers building and here is the blip I did on May 10 about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.