Baby Hummers on the Way

If I had the addresses of all my blip friends...I just might send out birth announcements. You see, Hattie the hummer is expecting.

I wish it was a tree at my house, but it isn't. But...it is the next best thing. She is holed up at my daughters place...7 miles away.

We haven't had too much luck with nests so far this Spring. A mother duck at my daughters lost all her eggs, and the robin on my side fence lost hers, too. Always sad to see.

I had to stand on a ladder to get this shot. 4 rungs up. Never a good thing...old men and ladders. I was a little concerned that she might buzz my head.

Can you imagine the headline? MINISCULE MARAUDER KNOCKS PHOTOGRAPHER OFF HIS PERCH.

Such a small nest. I couldn't see the eggs...but it does make me wonder. How many hummingbird eggs would it take to make an omelet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.