The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Warehouse on a sunny morning

I got almost to the top of this wall this morning! About where the picture ends, as the wall is 11 metres high and there was strong sunlight and not enough space for me to back into to take a decent shot!

I tried this wall two weeks ago when practising my falls, and afterwards the instructor kind of told me off for not getting to the top, because he said I could have! And there was me thinking I was supposed to be practising falling...

So I tried it today and couldn't get quite to the top, but was nearly there. The trick is to hang around and have a rest from time to time, apparently. Another day....

I was with Eileen, my old mate and new climbing partner, and her daughter Kirsty. K goes to Rock Academy sessions on Sunday morning. Less than three years ago she was having surgery on her hip, because the head of the femur was out of shape, and she could barely run. Fortunately the operations were a success, and she is now enjoying climbing and other challenging activities.

How I wish that indoor climbing had been available to kids when I was a youngster, and being a disgrace at hockey, netball, tennis, rounders, gymnastics... glad that it can be taught now to children who are old enough to walk!

Afterwards, Eileen dropped me off at the Sunday market in Stroud, and I bought some fab Indian cook-in sauce, which is made in a local village hall, and some bhajis from another stall. Then I sat in the brilliant sunshine to eat in the marketplace. Such a contrast to Friday, when I was also eating bhajis (being gluten-free, they are my new best friend) but in the car in Brizzle, in the drizzle.

Later, I did some weeding in the front garden. This feels like emptying the pacific ocean with a teaspoon. Then lay down in the cabin on a big cushion and fell asleep! Bomble was with me the whole time, my furry purry shadow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.