CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

My lost ammonite

Today was fossil hunting day. We had booked a fossil walk with the Lyme Regis town museum, and I don't mind advertising because it was excellent.

Our guides were Paddy and Chris and they really knew their stuff. The walk lasted about 4 hours, and we didn't go a massive distance but it was just about right.

Kai came home with several belemnite fossils and a couple of small ammonites which have now been proudly boxed up for Mum and Dad.

At the front of this photo are two ammonites, one of which I found, and the other was Kai's, broken from a rock by Chris. Unfortunately these two were too heavy in the end, what with 4 bags of various baby and child necessities, something had to go. I figured it would cause less friction if I abandoned a rock a few million years old, rather than a baby only one year old.

At least I got a photo of these ammonites before they were abandoned, to be discovered by someone else on another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.