Journey Through Time

By Sue

Peninsula Park Rose Garden

We went to the rose garden at Peninsula Park in Portland today. It was an overcast day, so the sky is sort of white washed, but after deepening the colors on the images, most of them came out okay, I guess. I liked the looks of this picture, so this is the lead off image. I did try to whittle things down, really I did. The ones that made the first cut are in this Flickr set. I hope you have time to take a quick tour.

Peninsula Park became the city's first public rose garden in 1909 when it was purchased for $60,000 with funds raised in a 1908 bond measure. Designed by Emanuel L. Mische, the two-acre garden contains 5,700 roses featuring 75 varieties. The official rose of Portland, named Mme. Caroline Testout, was cultivated at Peninsula Park. In 1913, the park was chosen as the location for an annual rose show, where it remained until Washington Park was selected as the location of the International Rose Test Garden in 1917.

This is not like the Portland Rose Garden which is a test garden and much bigger than this. That garden has many tea roses and this garden features mass plantings of floribunda roses. Last year the staff and volunteers replaced all of the roses. I think the exception was the lovely climbing roses as we could see they were older because of their huge stems. We did see a group of little kids who were out with two ladies - obviously in some kind of day care group. I snapped one little girl and I totally love her outfit. And we saw a monstrous Great Dane, in that beautiful fawn color. What a gorgeous, humungous dog! And the fountain! A lovely fountain that I tried to get the "soft water" effect with. It was a nice outing.

Hope you are all well.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.