Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hummingbird Clearwing Moth

The clearwing moths (Hummingbird and Snowberry) are definitely two of my very favorite summer insects. I saw one very briefly in my garden the other day, but it was gone before I could grab a camera. So, when I headed out to one of my favorite hiking spots this morning, I was hoping I'd see one - they always show up on this particular trail for the wildflowers at this time of year. And, just as I was heading back after 3 hours, I spied this one! I put Big Daddy into service as a long-distance macro ... worked out just fine.

The rest of my hike was equally fruitful - so many dragons and damsels, loads of yellow warblers, cedar waxwings, butterflies, worm-eating grackles, egg-laying turtles... and my first ever MINK! Holy cow - that was a shocker! The little guy kept me company for about 15 minutes, darting back and forth on the trail about 50 feet ahead of me. I'm thinking it was a youngster because it didn't seem too concerned by my presence. In all my hours of hiking I've never seen a mink before, so it was pretty exciting.

I took over 500 photos this morning. That alone tells you that I had a good hike. If you are feeling very brave, I have posted 23 shots on Flickr, starting HERE. If you just want to see the mink, he's HERE

Hubs in in Alabama for a couple of days, visiting his brother, sister and mother. He'll leave for the last leg of his journey Friday morning. I miss him terribly.

I am sitting in my office right now, watching a little chipmunk in the shrub outside my window. He's discovered the seed ball that I hung there and is busy trying to put all the seeds in his pouches. Clearly send to cheer me up!

Happy Hump Day, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.