Western Flying Adder, Maybe

I was in the back picking blackberries early this morning, never expecting to see wildlife. The dragonfly was way down inside the vines and I had to race back inside to get my camera, bathrobe flapping and slippers slapping. Turns out I didnt have to run--he stayed around for a good long time while I poked around in the leaves and tried to move things out of the way. I am so enchanted with the way the camera lets me see things that I cannot get to on my own; I can manipulate the camera inside the brambles, but my face won't fit in there, nor do I want it to.

Large, hairy, brownish-black and yellow all point to Flying Adder (Cordulegastridae), but one source insists the eyes should be green to merit the Western label. I have exhausted my insect knowledge, but that does not diminish my delight and excitement on spotting this creature. Made my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.