My day

By 59

Tichborne grain silo

Another in my series of " on the road again". This is a typical example of the grain silos they have scattered across the wheat belt of New South Wales. The farmers cart the grain from their harvest to these silos in trucks where they are picked up by rail. In days gone by they had to bag the wheat before carting, this must have been a terribly hard job. Now they have all sorts of machinery to assist so the worst injury from wheat farming is probably asthma which is prevalent in these areas.

This is winter time and the day was so warm I was able to take off all jumpers. We live in a cooler area so by the time we got home tonight I had my jumper and coat back on. Our trip took us to Orange, Forbes, Parkes, Peak Hill and back again about 500 kilometres. I had work appointments and all went well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.