Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Saracen Fountain

Glasgow is a city of public parks. As it's been quite a while since I visited many of them this is a matter I plan to rectify over the next few months, all being well.

One of those that reminds me of my teenage years and early twenties is Alexandra Park in Dennistoun. The Boys' Brigade company of which I was a member in Stepps belonged to Dennistoun District, and we had district sports days and other events in and around Alexandra Park. I've been there since then, but not recently, and so another visit was long overdue.

One of the primary features of Alexandra Park is the Saracen Fountain, so called because it was cast in the Saracen Foundry in Glasgow. Originally placed in Kelvingrove Park for the 1901 International Exhibition, it was relocated to Alexandra Park in 1914.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.